Wasps' Fiji-born back-row forward Nathan Hughes has been named in a provisional 45-man England elite player squad for a pre-season camp this month.  Hughes qualified on residency this summer and features for the first time under head coach Eddie Jones.

Leicester hooker Tom Youngs, who was overlooked earlier in the year by Jones, is recalled to the set-up.

But Northampton's Luther Burrell, Chris Ashton of Saracens and Wasps' Danny Cipriani are notable omissions.

England play South Africa, Fiji, Argentina and Australia later in the year, with Jones confirming his final 45-man squad at the end of September.

However, this squad gives a clear indication as to Jones' thinking.

"This camp sets the scene for November," said Jones. "It's important to catch up with the players prior to the start of the season and continue to put our plans in place.

"We've chosen a number of new faces to attend this camp on the form they have shown recently or the potential we see in them.

"Naturally players not included in this pre-season camp will be disappointed, but consistent high-level performances can change that."

After missing out on the tour of Australia because of a hamstring problem, centre Manu Tuilagi will be part of the camp, as will flanker James Haskell, despite suffering a foot injury which is set to rule him out of the autumn series.

Leicester forward Mike Williams, like Hughes, is named for the first time under Jones, but Gloucester flanker Matt Kvesic misses out.

Following the series win in South African with England Saxons, Wasps scrum-half Dan Robson, Mike Haley of Sale and Charlie Ewels of Bath are all involved.

Other players in the camp who are uncapped at senior level are Josh Beaumont, Kyle Sinckler and Ben Te'o, with the latter two part of the tour down under.

England provisional squad:

Forwards: J Beaumont (Sale Sharks), D Cole (Leicester Tigers), L Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), J Clifford (Harlequins), W Evans (Leicester Tigers), C Ewels (Bath Rugby), J George (Saracens), E Genge (Leicester Tigers), T Harrison (Northampton Saints), D Hartley (Northampton Saints), J Haskell (Wasps), P Hill (Northampton Saints), N Hughes (Wasps), M Itoje (Saracens), G Kruis (Saracens), J Launchbury (Wasps), C Lawes (Northampton Saints), J Marler (Harlequins), M Mullan (Wasps), C Robshaw (Harlequins), K Sinckler (Harlequins), B Vunipola (Saracens), M Vunipola (Saracens), M Williams (Leicester Tigers), T Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

Backs: M Brown (Harlequins), D Care (Harlequins), E Daly (Wasps), O Farrell (Saracens), G Ford (Bath Rugby), A Goode (Saracens), M Haley (Sale Sharks), J Joseph (Bath Rugby), J Marchant (Harlequins), J May (Gloucester Rugby), J Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), D Robson (Wasps), S Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby), J Simpson (Wasps), H Slade (Exeter Chiefs), B Te'o (Worcester Warriors), M Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), A Watson (Bath Rugby), M Yarde (Harlequins), B Youngs (Leicester Tigers).